Casillas : Best Keeper of 2009

Casillas Award

For the second year running, IFFHS (International Federation of Football History & Statistics) has honoured Iker Casillas as the best goalkeeper of the year. The award given annually since 1987 to goalkeepers for their fantastic agility and ball stopping skills to keep their sides in the hunt for a win or as in our case to win trophies and titles.

Past winners include Fabien Barthez, Oiliver Kahn, Jose Luis Chilavert and Peter Schmeichel to name a few. This time around he beat Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus) , Julio Cesar (Inter Milan) , Edwin van der Sar (Manchester Untied) and Peter Cech (Chelsea) to maintain his coveted position.

This adds to Iker's tally of various titles and awards won such as 4 La Liga titles, 3 Copa Del Reys, 2 Champions Leagues, 1 European Super Cup and 1 Intercontinental Cup. With the national side, he lifted the European Cup in 2008.

On behalf of many Madridistas, I would like to thank Iker for his undoubted support for the club and unconditional love towards the club and its fans. Also for keeping us in contention with his miraculous saves. Hala Madrid!

Tagged as: ,

2 Responses »

  1. I really like when people are expressing their opinion and thought. So I like the way you are writing

  2. Thanks Sprawl for your comment. Appreciate the kind words

Leave a Response

Please note: comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.